Masterworks 5

As part of MASTERWORKS 5, the Asheville Symphony presents ‘Under the Influence’ featuring the music of Miranda, Mozart, Brahms featuring pianist Sara Daneshpour.

The concert will take place at 8 p.m. on Saturday, March 21 in the Thomas Wolfe Auditorium inside Harrahs Cherokee Center — Asheville.

This will be the first concert in ASO’s Beethoven celebration and features composers who inspired and were inspired by Beethoven. Brazilian composer Ronaldo Miranda’s Temporal Variations reimagines Beethoven’s motives in a 21st century setting.

Mozart’s D-minor piano concerto foreshadows the stormy nature of his successor in the genre. Brahms’ First Symphony answers the question of what the symphony could say after Beethoven — in fact, it was dubbed Beethoven’s Tenth Symphony after its premiere.

The Program includes:

  • Miranda: Temporal Variations
  • Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 20
  • Brahms: Symphony No. 1

Tickets start at $25. Purchase them online

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.